Home > Uncategorized > Guest Post From Fr. West, Associate Rector

Guest Post From Fr. West, Associate Rector

We have come to the end of a summer which hopefully was good for all of you. It was a time where many got away and families were reunited after months of separation in some cases. I was able to travel to Florida to spend some time with my siblings and be present to help celebrate my brother’s 75th birthday.

Summer is a time when we all get a chance to regroup and recoup in some areas where we have not had time during the remainder of the year.

There are several times during the year when we celebrate new beginnings:  New Year’s Day is one as is Advent and so also is September when holidays are over and our children go back to school and our lives return to what some may call “normal.” I think it is always nice to be able to embark on new adventures and September can be one of those times. It is a good thing that we allow ourselves new beginnings.

At All Saints we will begin anew with preparation for the Third Annual Pie Festival and also the recognition of the completion of 125 years of the church’s history. We will also look forward to a visit by Bishop Lee on October 19th, which we just found out about.

I am like a cat which might have shown up on your doorstep here and you took me in. You may have not needed me but I certainly needed you. For me personally, I will be entering my fourth year of an association with All Saints and I am very thankful for my time here. You all and Mother Sandra have made me feel very welcome. I also have a few other milestones which will come up soon—I will have lived to make it to my 70th birthday and will join my siblings in yet another decade. October also marks the 40th anniversary of my ordination to the priesthood and without hesitation I must say the time here has been very rewarding and happiest years for me in my ministry. I have made many friends here and have been very blessed to be a part of the help at the Bread of Life Café, which is a ministry of the church that I think is not only rewarding but necessary in the community.

I find that All Saints is a very loving community and this is what we are all called to be. Sure we have our differences at times but there is not feuding which can so often be the case in any gathering of people. In the important things there is a family attitude and this appears to be a good family.

I wish you all a great year ahead and I look forward to our continued service to the church and community in the love of our Lord Jesus Christ.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment